jessewillis / tags / copyfight

Tagged with “copyfight” (7)

  1. CBC Spark: Nora Young interviews David Fewer about Bill C-32 : SFFaudio

    The Canadian government is taking another crack at reforming our nation’s extremely outdated copyright laws. Two previous bills died when Parliament dissolved. But Bill C-32 is bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and before committee. How necessary are these changes? The current legislation includes mention of Beta Max machines. Meanwhile, Bill C-32 would finally make it legal to record a program on your VCR to watch at a later time. Yes – a practice that is technically illegal in Canada.

    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  2. Intellectual Property Colloquium - Download Program


    Tagged with copyfight

    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  3. ABC Radio National - Background Briefing - Internet piracy

    ABC Radio National - November 1, 2009 - Copyright began 300 years ago, but now laws can’t cope with the anarchy of new technologies. There’s a battle between the law and the ‘mashers’, from the White House to the Australian Federal Court. Reporter, Oscar McLaren. Image by Omaz Z, file photo.

    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  4. Canadian Copright Consultation held in Winnipeg, Manitoba August 5th 2009


    Carolyn Wood (Association of Canadian Publishers ACP) Karen Adam (Canadian Association of Research Libraries CARL) Merit Jensen-Carr (Documentary Organization of Canada DOC) Nichole Cyr Hiebert (MTS Allstream) Sid Rashid (University of Manitoba Students’ Association) Christopher Dutchyn (University of Saskatchewan) Cecilia Araneda (Winnipeg Film Group) Alan Willaert (American Federation of Musicians) Sean McManus (Manitoba Music) Tanya Peatt (Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage) Barbara Motzney (Copyright Policy Branch, Canadian Heritage) Colette Downie (Marketplace Framework Policy Branch, Industry Canada) Tanya Woods (Marketplace Framework Policy Branch, Industry Canada)


    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  5. Canadian Copright Consultation held in Gatineau, Quebec July 30th 2009


    The Honourable James Moore (Minister of Heritage) The Honourable Tony Clement (Minister of Industry) Roanie Levy (Access copyright ACCESS) Nancy Marrelli (Association of Canadian Archivists ACA) Steve Wills (Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada AUCC) Graham Henderson (Canadian Recording Industry Association CRIA) Rick Theis (Canadian Alliance of Student Associations CASA) Paul Jones (Canadian Association of University Teachers CAUT) Jessica Litwin (Canada Conference of the Arts CCA) Diana Nemiroff (Canadian Museums Association) Fran Cutler (Canadian National Institute for the Blind CNIB) Brian Boyle (Canadian Photographers Coalition) Jay Kerr-Wilson (Fasken Martineau) Jeremy deBeer (University of Ottawa) Laura Murray (Queens University) John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre PIAC) J. Serge Sasseville (Quebecor Media) Michael Geist Matthew Johnson (Media Awareness) Rosalie Fox (Canadian Association of Law Libraries) Violet Ford (Inuit Circumpolar Council ICC) David Keeble Darren Cunningham (Director of Communications, Industry Canada) Colette Downie (Director General, Industry Canada) Nicole Frenette (Director, Policy, Planning and Research, Canadian Heritage) Deirdra McCracken (Director of Communications, Canadian Heritage) Airlie McGhee (Policy Analyst, Industry Canada) Barbara Motzney (Director General, Copyright Policy Branch, Canadian Heritage) Tanya Peatt (Director of Policy, Canadian Heritage)


    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  6. Canadian Copright Consultation held in Calgary, Alberta July 21st 2009


    The Honourable Tony Clement (Minister of Industry) Zoe Addington (Office of the Minister of Industry Canada) Barbara Motzney (Copyright Policy Branch, Canadian Heritage) Colette Downie (Marketplace Framework Policy Branch, Industry Canada) Gary Maavara (Canadian Association of Broadcasters) Lee Webster (Canadian Chamber of Commerce) Catherine A. Campbell (Canadian Publishers’ Council) Peter Pilarski (Retail Council of Canada) Cynthia Rathwell (Shaw Communications) Rene Smid (Digital Alberta) Rob Tiessen (Canadian Library Association) Kay She (University of Calgary Student Union)


    —Huffduffed by jessewillis

  7. Canadian Copright Consultation held in Vancouver, British Columbia July 20th 2009

    Tony Clement (Minister Of Industry)

    James Moore (Minister Of Heritage)

    Colette Downie (copyright policy at Industy Canada) – civil servant

    Richard Brownsey (President of BC Film) -

    Paul Whitney (City Librarian of Vancouver) – Representing the Canadian Urban Library Council

    Mira Sundara Rajan – (Canada Research Chair of Intellectual Property Law at UBC)

    Danielle Parr (Entertainment Software Association Of Canada) – Representing video game publishers and distributors

    Richard Rosenberg – (President of the B.C. Freedom Of Information And Privacy Association and BCCLA board member) –

    Nina Mitter ? – (British Columbia Library Association Copyright Committee)

    Elizabeth Rains – (President of the BC Association of Magazine Publishers)

    Mary Henricksen - (from the “Arts And Cluture policy anaylst for the branch of the province of British Columbia)

    Tammy Peat (Ministry of Arts? director of Policy?)

    Zoe Atkinson (Minister Clement’s director of Policy?)

    Lisa Cod (Vice President of the BC Museums Association)

    Charles Lazer? – (Council of the Writers Guild Of Canada)

    Bill Henderson (Songwriters Association Of Canada)

    Margot Patterson (General Council with the Canadian Association Of Broadcasters)

    Stephen Ellis? (from Toronto based Ellis Entertainment – representing the copyright committee of CFTPA)

    Jeff Glass (Vancouver Fair Copyright)

    Ian Boyco? (Canadian Federation Of Students)

    Barbara Motzne? (Department Of Canadian Heritage)

    —Huffduffed by jessewillis