The Love Life of the Octopus by Yo La Tengo

The Sounds of the Sounds of Science features 78 minutes of instrumental music by Yo La Tengo. The CD contains the entire score written and performed by the band to accompany eight legendary but rarely-seen undersea documentary shorts by influential French avant-garde filmmaker Jean Painleve. Yo La Tengo’s score, originally debuted on stage at the San Francisco Film Festival in April 2001 with the band providing live accompaniment to the films, echoes the films’ haunting surrealist imagery, yet the music is equally evocative on its own, from the dreamy soundscapes of “Sea Urchins” and “How Some Jellyfish Are Born” to the harsher, more dissonant moods of “Liquid Crystals”and “The Love Life of The Octopus”. In September 2001, the group headed into a Nashville studio and laid down the complete score with longtime producer Roger Moutenot. The resulting album also features vibrant cover photos from the films, along with ominous and comforting illustrations by Jim Woodring and Jad Fair.

Also huffduffed as…

  1. The Love Life of the Octopus by Yo La Tengo

    —Huffduffed by gentusmaximus on December 28th, 2010

  2. The Love Life of the Octopus by Yo La Tengo

    —Huffduffed by jes3ica on January 3rd, 2011

Possibly related…

  1. Yo La Tengo

    Alternative rock band Yo La Tengo is marking its 25th year together with its album, "Popular Songs." That title may be a bit ironic, since the New Jersey-based group has never had a Top 40 hit or made it big with mainstream fans. But Yo La Tengo, which played this weekend at San Francisco’s Treasure Island Music Festival, is a favorite among critics and has a devoted following in Northern California and around the world. The band joins us in studio.

    —Huffduffed by norelpref 4 years ago

  2. The Order Of Death

    By Public Image Limited. From the soundtrack of the cult British indie sci-fi film Hardware.

    The whole soundtrack is online here:

    —Huffduffed by adactio 5 years ago

  3. Dump - 1999 (Prince)

    "Dump is an alias for Yo La Tengo bassist James McNew. This song comes from an album of lo-fi Prince covers that he put out in 2001." From

    —Huffduffed by tiffehr 4 years ago